An 8-day Ignatian retreat

Sr Elisabeth Marie guided me on an 8-day Ignatian retreat during the heat of Summer 2019. It was my second 8-day retreat and I was happy to be joined by my brother Nicholas. Here is what I appreciated: Firstly the setting: of the retreat centre, forest, beach, mangrove swamp, estuary lake, the beach for long meditative walks, all being quiet together in the Presence of God. Secondly, the hospitality: of a private room under fabulous mature indigenous trees, with homemade food three times a day (suitably tailored to my Banting preference). Thirdly, the guidance: of caring, Spirit-led, insightful, attentive Direction. Fourthly, the experience of Church; the wonderful view from the Chapel, worship each day, Mass twice a week. Lastly I appreciated the fellowship; fellows to experience with: fellow retreatants and travellers, the Ursuline community at St Lucia, the birds, Harry the Hippo and the people of St Lucia. I shall definitely be back for another retreat, maybe even a 30-day one.

 


Fiona Maskell

 

Write a comment

Comments: 0